Huckleberry's Web Page

Labrador Retriever (medium coat)  : :  Male  : :  Adult  : :  Large


More Pics...

About Huckleberry

  • Status: Adopted!
  • Adoption Fee: 250.00
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Black
  • Eye Color: Brown
  • Ear Type: Droopy
  • Tail Type: Long
  • Current Size: 75 Pounds
  • Potential Size: 75 Pounds
  • Current Age: 8 Years (best estimate)
  • Fence Required: Yes(6 foot)
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Has Basic Training
  • Exercise Needs: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Low
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Owner Experience Needed: None
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

Do not be fooled by my handsome distinguished gray face. I may look like I am 10, but I am a very young almost 8 year old purebred Black Labrador Retriever with the perfect amount of energy.  I can have moments of zoomies, playing fetch, playing with my toys, chewing on bones, and playfulness followed by deep sleep, giving kisses and snuggles. 

I limped around on three legs for a really long time due to a bad ACL tear and a subluxating patella which has been repaired after a few surgeries.  I am good on all 4 legs now and ready to have some fun.  I have been through physical therapy and home therapy, and thanks to Allie’s Haven, I will be back to normal in no time.

Excuse me while I brag. I am really smart. I catch onto routines very quickly and like to “talk” to you when I need something. That’s right, I will whine or bark when I need to go outside; it is time to eat, time for a treat, or to go on a walk. When I get excited, I bark to let you know how happy I am. My foster family tells me I am one of the happiest dogs they have ever seen.  

I do not like to be confined to a crate however, I do not need to be crated. I can be trusted for hours in the house by myself. I am housetrained, know several commands, and ride very well in the car. I am still working on leash manners and doing great with the exception of those pesky squirrels.  If I see a squirrel, you better hold tight because I am ready to chase them.  So... Probably not good around cats is our best guess.

Two of my very favorite things are kids and swimming. My foster family has a 15-year-old boy, and I love him so much. I love to walk with him, hang out with him, and swim with him. Speaking of swimming, I would love to have a pool. Not only do I love water--I’m a lab, after all--but swimming helps with my rehabilitation. I will chase cats, so it’s probably best for me to have a cat-free home. My foster family has two dogs, and I love every dog I meet.  

When I was in the Fort Worth shelter, the shelter named me Huckleberry, but Allie’s Haven found out my real name is Riley, so WHEN you decide that I am the dog for you, I am Huckleberry, aka Riley. I cannot wait to find my forever family! Could that be you?

More about Huckleberry

Good with Dogs, Not Good with Cats, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Good with Adults, Somewhat vocal, Does Good in the Car, Requires a yard, Leashtrained, Plays fetch, Likes to play with toys, Likes to swim, Likes to be in your lap, Obedient, Playful, Affectionate, Eager To Please, Intelligent, Even-tempered, Goofy

Other Pictures of Huckleberry (click to see larger version):

Huckleberry Huckleberry Huckleberry Huckleberry
Huckleberry Huckleberry Huckleberry Huckleberry
Huckleberry